Pages of my life…

Zero to Sixty…From A Different Vantage Point

Posted on: May 17, 2009

The words "zero to sixty" took on a whole new meaning today…as I drove to the lake with a fly on the windshield.  At first he had his little legs planted ever so firmly on the windshield…refusing to yield…determined to hang on as though he had paid for a carnival ride.  I could almost hear his delighted squeals…"woo hoo…whee"…as he would have had to be smiling and feeling ever so proud of himself.  He had been given numerous opportunities to hop off as I drove along.  There were stop signs and stop lights…slowing for other drivers turning in front of the car…and yet he seemed determined to hang on no matter what.  I had to admire his tenacity and pondered the possibilities.  Was he on the windshield for the sheer thrill of a joy ride ?  Had he innocently made a pit stop only to discover the front windshield belonged to a teenager and he was now stuck knee deep in concentrated soda pop ?  Perhaps he was participating in a game of dare in which he was to try and hold on as long as possible…setting some new kind of record…ironically flying without flying.  From time to time he would lift a leg or two and then simply place them back on the glass as though stretching his little legs.  Picture if you will a little guy with hair blowing in the breeze…riding as though on a motorcycle…without a care in the world.  I approached the highway with heightened curiosity…wondering if others might have simply turned on the windshield wipers and sealed his fate.  It was not until I reached exactly sixty miles an hour that he lost the battle between gravity and air speed…his determined feet simply lost their balance and he flew away…as though swept up by a giant tornado.  As I reached my lakeside destination…I hoped in my heart of hearts that he was now flying back to town…puffing his chest out in full proud peacock style…thinking to himself…"just wait til the guys hear about this one".  And so if you ever wondered at what speed a fly might be involuntarily ejected from a windshield…I think it is safe to say they are strictly a zero to sixty act.
Leave a Reply

  • None
  • justmebethb: Thank you for your interest in my little blog page. I know very little about the format options. I was in writing mode a few years ago and combined
  • best psychics in boston massachusetts: I'm really loving the theme/design of your weblog. Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility problems? A small number of my blog audi
  • justmebethb: Thanks Lori...I could not agree more. And, of course, the first daffodil ever planted at this house, bloomed yesterday...on Ray's birthday. Makes se
